University of Missouri
College of Arts & Science

Department of Mathematics

AlumniAnnouncementsCalendarCourse InformationGraduate JobsPeople ResearchUndergraduateUndergraduate Course PlacementWelcome

Luther Marion Defoe Distinguished Professorship of Mathematics

Leonard Blumenthal (1968-1971)
Walter Leighton (1971-1978)
Marc Jacobs (1978-1981)
John Beem (1981-1984)
Nigel Kalton (1984-1985)
Paul Ehrlich (1985-1988)
Peter Casazza (1988-1991)
Mark Ashbaugh (1991-1996)
Fritz Gesztesy (1996-2001)
Steve Hofmann (2001-2005)
Mark Rudelson (2005-2009)
Pete Casazza (2010-2012)
Loukas Grafakos (2012-2017)

Established as a lifetime position, the Defoe Professorship changed to a three-year appointment in 1978. Nigel Kalton held the title for one year, relinquishing it to accept the Rose and Mahala Houchins Chair of Mathematics, which he held until he passed away in 2010. In 1991, the term of the appointment changed to five years. Steve Hofmann relinquished the chair a year early in 2005 to accept a Curators' Professorship.


This page was last updated Wednesday, October 17, 2012

Mathematics Department
202 Mathematical Sciences Bldg
University of Missouri
Columbia, MO 65211 USA
Phone (573) 882-6221
Fax: (573) 882-1869
© 2009 — Curators of the University of Missouri
DMCA and other copyright information.
All rights reserved.
an equal opportunity/ADA institution