Astrophysics-Relativity Seminars

Title/Speaker Date
CANCELLED!Electron and Spin Density Analysis of Neutral and Ionized Polycyclic Aromatic Hydrocarbons and of Partially Hydrogenated Derivatives
Prof. Rainer Glaser
Tuesday, December 5, 2017 - 1:00pm
Observing Numerical Simulations of Galaxy Formation
Prof. Yicheng Guo
Tuesday, November 28, 2017 - 1:00pm
(Comprehensive Exam) Study of Planck Compact Sources
Chenxiaoji Ling
Tuesday, November 14, 2017 - 1:00pm
Gravitational deflection of light: What else can the Eddington experiment tell us about gravity?
Prof. Sergei Kopeikin
Tuesday, November 7, 2017 - 1:00pm
Accurately Measuring Dusty Star Formation with Herschel Data - Progress Report
Zhiyuan Ma
Tuesday, October 31, 2017 - 1:00pm
The Tale of Two Techniques: Empirical and Theoretical Investigations of Close-Pairs and Tidal Features to Quantify Galaxy Merging
Kameswara Mantha
Tuesday, October 24, 2017 - 1:00pm
Anchoring Global Stellar Mass Density in the Local Universe
Marat Musin
Tuesday, October 17, 2017 - 1:00pm
Exploring Star Formation in the most massive, low z galaxies using WISE
James Runge
Tuesday, October 10, 2017 - 1:00pm
The falling cat -- a cursory look at sub-riemannian geometry
Prof. Peng Yu
Tuesday, October 3, 2017 - 1:00pm
Recalescence and Crystalline Silicates in Space
Angela Speck
Tuesday, September 26, 2017 - 1:00pm
Recalescence and Crystalline Silicates in Space
Angela Speck
Tuesday, September 19, 2017 - 1:00pm
Beyond JWST - Wide-Field Infrared Survey Telescope (WFIRST)
Prof. Haojing Yan
Tuesday, September 12, 2017 - 1:00pm
The apparent shape of a relativistically moving sphere (II)
Adam Helfer
Tuesday, September 5, 2017 - 1:00pm
The apparent shape of a relativistically moving sphere (I)
Adam Helfer
Tuesday, August 29, 2017 - 1:00pm
Measure Dusty Star Formation in Herschel-FLS: a PSF-based major contributor identification approach
Zhiyuan Ma
Tuesday, May 2, 2017 - 1:00pm
NGC 2392: Deciphering the Lack of H2 Emission
Sean Baldridge
Tuesday, April 25, 2017 - 1:00pm
The Most Luminous Galaxies in the Universe
Min Yun (University of Massachusetts, Amherst)
Tuesday, April 18, 2017 - 1:00pm
Dust Formation as a Function of Molecular Emission around Evolved Oxygen-Rich Stars (Comprehensive Exam)
Lisa Shepard (Univ of Missouri)
Tuesday, April 11, 2017 - 1:00pm
Cancelled Tuesday, April 4, 2017 - 1:00pm
Cancelled Tuesday, March 21, 2017 - 1:00pm
Gaia and its first data release
Haojing Yan (Univ of Missouri, Physics)
Tuesday, March 14, 2017 - 1:00pm
What relativists can learn from quantum information science
Peng Yu (Westminster College)
Tuesday, March 7, 2017 - 1:00pm
Relativity and Fundamental Physics
Sergei Kopeikin (Univ of Missouri)
Tuesday, February 28, 2017 - 1:00pm
Astrophysical Masers
Lisa Shepard (Univ of Missouri-Physics)
Tuesday, February 21, 2017 - 1:00pm
Special Seminar: Unlocking the promise of high redshift 21cm: Very First stars, better cosmology, and context for JWST
Daniel Jacobs (Arizona State University)
Friday, February 17, 2017 - 1:00pm
Expected and Unexpected Insights from Upcoming Transient Searches
Patrick Kelly (UC Berkeley)
Tuesday, February 14, 2017 - 1:00pm
Nuclear Gas Dynamics in Luminous Infrared Galaxies
Vivian U (UC Riverside)
Tuesday, February 7, 2017 - 1:00pm
Gravitational collapse, Hawking Radiation, Firewalls and All That
Adam Helfer (Univ of Missouri)
Tuesday, January 24, 2017 - 1:00pm
Organizational Meeting Tuesday, January 17, 2017 - 1:00pm
Relativity and Fundamental Physics
Sergei Kopeikin
Tuesday, December 6, 2016 - 1:00pm
Nature of Optical-Faint Compact Radio Sources (OFCORS) - a progress report
Jacob Brown
Tuesday, November 15, 2016 - 1:00pm
Star Formation in the Spitzer First-Look Survey (FLS) Field: a multi-wavelength view
Zhiyuan Ma (Univ of Missouri, Physics)
Tuesday, November 1, 2016 - 1:00pm
Synergy of WISE and SDSS in Stripe 82 (Comprehensive Exam)
Marat Musin
Tuesday, October 25, 2016 - 1:00pm
Jacobi, Routh, and symmetry: from classical mechanics to general relativity
Prof. Peng Yu (Westminster College)
Tuesday, October 11, 2016 - 1:00pm
First Stars, First Galaxies, and how to find them
Haojing Yan (Univ of Missouri)
Tuesday, October 4, 2016 - 1:00pm
Cancelled Tuesday, September 27, 2016 - 1:00pm
Emmi Noether and conservation laws in theoretical physics
Sergei Kopeikin (Univ of Missouri, Physics and Astronomy)
Tuesday, September 20, 2016 - 1:00pm
James Webb Space Telescope - two years from now
Haojing Yan (Univ of Missouri)
Tuesday, September 13, 2016 - 1:00pm
The CMB, fermions and gravitational waves (II)
Adam Helfer (Univ of Missouri)
Tuesday, September 6, 2016 - 1:00pm
The CMB, fermions and gravitational waves (I)
Adam Helfer (Univ of Missouri)
Tuesday, August 30, 2016 - 1:00pm
Mapping Ten Thousand Nearby Galaxies in 3D
Prof. Renbin Yan (Univ of Kentucky)
Tuesday, April 26, 2016 - 1:00pm
CANCELLED Tuesday, April 19, 2016 - 1:00pm
Systematic study of PAH emission in protoplanetary disks
Ji Yeon Seok (Univ of MO, Physics)
Tuesday, April 12, 2016 - 1:00pm
Chronometric leveling: principles and methods
Sergei Kopeikin (Univ of Missouri, Physics and Astronomy)
Tuesday, April 5, 2016 - 1:00pm
The Planned Chinese South Pole Astronomical Observatory
Haojing Yan (Univ of Missouri, Physics and Astronomy)
Tuesday, March 22, 2016 - 1:00pm
CANCELLED Tuesday, March 15, 2016 - 1:00pm
Probing the Early Epoch of Massive Cluster Formation.
Kyoungsoo Lee (Purdue)
Tuesday, March 8, 2016 - 1:00pm
An invitation to topological data analysis
Peng Yu (Westminster College)
Tuesday, March 1, 2016 - 1:00pm
Dust production in supernovae
Takaya Nozawa (National Astronomical Observatory of Japany)
Tuesday, February 23, 2016 - 1:00pm
LIGO’s detection of gravitational wave
All (Haojing will lead the discussion)
Tuesday, February 16, 2016 - 1:00pm

Pages